|Only Legal Format and Text Tow Sign 9-1-13|
If you have been towed, booted or charged a drop fee at any private or public parking facility and tow signs fails to state either: “Booting Enforced”, “Towing Enforced” or “Towing and Booting Enforced”, as shown above, you are entitled monetary damages.
If you were towed anywhere in Travis County with a tow sign posted as shown below, that states Towing Enforced at all times in the red background below the tow truck symbol, file for a tow hearing in either JP1, JP2 or JP3, if towed within Williamson County, JP 2, as these Judges are upholding the towing law verbatim. If the storage facility or tow truck driver fails to provide the name of the person who authorized the tow, the 14 day deadline to file the request for a tow hearing doesn't begin until the information is provided.
If you are towed anywhere in Bexar County with tow signs such as the three below , you should file your tow or statutory violation hearing in JP2 Place 1. In San Antonio, also call SAPD at 210-207-2348 to file criminal charges against the tow truck driver that towed your vehicle.
If your towed anywhere in Brazos County and the tow signs below are posted, you should file your tow or statutory violation hearing in JP2 Place 1 in Bryan even if towed in College Station.
If your towed, booted or charged a drop fee, always take a photograph of the tow sign posted with your cellphone prior to going to get your vehicle at the storage lot.
These changes in the signs became effective September 1, 2013 and after 7 months, the majority of tow company still refuse provide a legal tow sign to parking facilities and continue to tow vehicles in violation of State Law.
In contesting the towing of your vehicle in either a tow or statutory violation hearing with illegal signs posted, it should be based on the Texas Occupations Code 2308.301 and 302. In these types of case, a vehicle owner or operator can represent themselves if you have the photographs of the tow signs posted.
Tow Hearing: get back what you paid plus court costs and evidence costs.
Statutory Violation Hearing: get back $1000 plus three times the tow, booting or drop fees, court fees and costs of photographs, in addition to cost of repairs for damage done to your vehicle during the towing and storage process.
The absolutely certain you file an online complaint with the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation against the tow company if an illegal sign is posted on the parking facility your vehicle was towed from so they be fined $1500+, Once you obtain a "track number" after submitting your complaint, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to send the photos of the tow signs and the documents you were given at the storage facility. Be sure to write, "Track Number XXXXX Documentation in the subject line of the email and your contact information in the body of the email.
For further information or assistance while at the vehicle storage facility, call 512-680-3190.